Author Topic: Hafting  (Read 6517 times)

Offline Matt G.

Hafting
« on: September 14, 2013, 08:10:30 am »
I have cut many selfnocks but I am wondering what methods you all use to cut your notches for hafting?  I'm using Hill cane and it is plugged. I know I have to fit the point as best I can and will use sand paper for that but the initial cut is what I'm asking about. Just use the same method as the selfnocks? Thank you in advance.
Keeping the Faith!
Matt

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Hafting
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2013, 09:20:05 am »
Bandsaw for me. Then finish to size with sandpaper or a rat tail depending on the stone thickness. Im a rookie, soooooo.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Ozzy

« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2013, 09:42:37 am »
Bandsaw for me. Then finish to size with sandpaper or a rat tail depending on the stone thickness. Im a rookie, soooooo.
+1
THE BEST SUNRISES ARE SEEN 20 FEET UP A TREE.

Offline TRACY

« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2013, 10:18:41 am »
Hacksaw or coping saw. Finish with sand paper. Sometimes I use small files then sandpaper.

Tracy
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline Matt G.

« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2013, 10:41:14 am »
Thanks for the reply's folks. I'll do the hack saw route as I can't get my bandsaw to run.
Keeping the Faith!
Matt

Offline Bryce

• Global Moderator
  • Pacific Ghost Longbows
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2013, 10:45:00 am »
+1
+2
Clatskanie, Oregon

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2013, 12:32:35 pm »