Author Topic: Tzalam wood, Longbow / Flatbow, Self Bow, Mexican Hardwood. Questions???  (Read 5879 times)

Offline Capt

Hi everyone, just made myself a bow, first attempt at a self Bow and had to use locally available wood. I managed to find a nice cut off from a trunk that made a good looking Stave... The Wood is named Tzalam and I'd really like to get some info on how good a pro-bowyer thinks it would hold up for a longbow....that's if anyone has even heard if it? I managed to get a good 55#@28" after tillering.. Any info or feedback would be much appreciated... Bests

Offline Badger

Re: Tzalam wood, Longbow / Flatbow, Self Bow, Mexican Hardwood. Questions???
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2013, 01:39:35 pm »
   It appears to be a good wood, if it did not chrysal or take set with the heavy bending area you have I would like to give it a try some time.

Offline rossfactor

• Humboldt County CA
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2013, 01:40:30 pm »
I'm no pro.... but here are some thoughts:

Interesting bow, and very pretty wood.  Whats it backed with?  It does not seem like the limbs are bending past the inner 1/3 hardly at all.  This is likely going to produce a lot of set (especially because inner limb set causes the most string follow). How does the bow shoot?  Can we a see a picture of the unbraced profile?

Since this is finished I would suggest making another bow, unbacked, and getting the mid and out limbs bending more evenly with the inner limb.

Nice finish work by the way,

Gabe
Humboldt County CA.

Offline Capt

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2013, 02:00:13 pm »
Is really not finished i have just tapered the sides of the limbs from the inner 3rd portion to the tips (along the edges / sides of limbs and want to tiller them down to get more flex in the outer portions...

Before doing this and after shooting about a hundred arrows i heard a light cracking noise at the over stressed points on the inner limbs and noticed a slight crack and lifting of a splinter..