Author Topic: will this hurt it  (Read 4341 times)

Offline david w.

will this hurt it
« on: December 15, 2007, 04:08:05 pm »
I bought a perfect red oak board today and on the way home it was in the bed of my brothers truck.  It is snowing out and 1 side of the board was exposed to snow. so now it's wet and i wiped it off with a paper towel.

will that moisture hurt the bow?  I dont think it will because i work so slow and it will take a while before i start tillering it but i wanted to see what you all thought.
These pretzels are making me thirsty.

if it dont go fast...chrome it - El Destructo

whatareyadoin

Re: will this hurt it
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2007, 04:13:03 pm »
I would let it dry before working it, My experience with wood is expansion and contraction caused twist and checking and surface Cracks, At least thats what I learned in industrial arts I was an A student. Sorry about the Bragging.

Offline DanaM

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2007, 07:58:30 pm »
Naw won't hurt it David, stand it in a corner for a few days to dry and all will be well.
Post some pics of your progress, we like pictures ;)
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2007, 08:05:29 pm »
That's what I'm thinking David, surface moisture dries up quick from what I've learned here - few days aught to be overkill......
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline david w.

« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2007, 08:16:31 pm »
i checked it and now i cant tell it was wet.
Can someone tell me what weight i should shoot for at various draw lengths while tillerring.  Final destination weight will be 50#
It will be 2"wide 66"ntn and backed with linen. I might be able to unback this but i think i should since it is my 2 bow

Offline Otoe Bow