Author Topic: **Beginner** Starting a Red Oak Board Bow  (Read 13447 times)

Offline jpschersch

**Beginner** Starting a Red Oak Board Bow
« on: August 16, 2013, 02:29:31 pm »
Good afternoon all!  This is my first post on here and I'm really new to all this, so bear with me.

I've been looking at A LOT of videos and walkthroughs/guides related to building a self bow.  I've decided to start this experience using a Red Oak board from Lowe's and probably a Black Walnut grip extention....but not sure on that wood, we'll see.  I purchased a few tools (Rasp, C-Clamps, Vise Grip, File) and 2 Red Oak boards that have what I think are decent grain to start with.  I looked at Poor Folk Bows site and he backed with Drywall tape (which I saw BoarriorBows do as well) but I'm not sure I like the look/feel of what it would be (maybe someone can talk me into/out of it?).  I also saw a lot of threads regarding using another wood backing (like hickory or bamboo...) but my main question on that is how/when do you put it on the bow....before you cut? after you cut? after you tiller? before? Just not sure on that process...With Silk or Linen cloth as backing, you do that after tillering, right?   Anyway, I know these are probably easy questions, but as a complete newbie (remember how I JUST bought my first rasp? lol..) any info is appreciated!

Thanks!
Joe

Offline autologus

Re: **Beginner** Starting a Red Oak Board Bow
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2013, 03:11:34 pm »
Don't use drywall tape, use silk or linen instead.  You apply the cloth backings after tillering, these type backing are for safety purposes and do not affect the tiller to any appreciable degree and they will not add any poundage to the draw weight.  Bubby has a great build-a-long for making a board bow in the link below.  You can follow it using just hand tools just fine, the dimensions will work well with red oak.

http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,35312.0.html

Grady
Proud Hillbilly from Arkansas.