Author Topic: staves for trade  (Read 3096 times)

Offline NeolithicMan

• No beliefs, just ideas
staves for trade
« on: August 14, 2013, 09:57:09 am »
I am new to PA forum and don't really know all the rules or how it all works so forgive me if I make a fool of myself. I have a shed full of shagbark hickory, red oak, sugar maple, honey locust and wild cherry. I seem to have a want for wood that my bow skills cant keep up with. all of it is split into extra large staves from last years cutting bananza ( I swear its like an addiction). I am looking to trade these staves for others I cannot get easily in my woods here in central NY. I will also take finished bows, knapped hunting points (obsidian is my favorite), good sized and good condition buckskins, and I am willing to hear other offers. I am not sure how to send these large staves so info is greatly appreciated on the subject.

Thanks
John, 40-65# @ 28" Central New York state. Never enough bows, never enough arrows!

Offline NeolithicMan

• No beliefs, just ideas
Re: staves for trade
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2013, 10:07:41 am »
Just read a bit about peoples expectations for trade posts, sorry If I did not post enough info. ask any questions you may have and I will do my best to answer them. all the staves are approx. 68" to 78" in length and 2" to 5" in width. they are all a bit rough, I just hand cut trees down with bow saw and ax then spilt them with wedges and left them in my shed. hope this is enough info to help everyone out.

Thank you, John
John, 40-65# @ 28" Central New York state. Never enough bows, never enough arrows!

Offline wood_bandit99

• Shoot straight my friends!!
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2013, 11:51:48 am »
Look at my post under the names staves wanted started by wb99. It has a list of stuff I would trade u. I'm interested in the locust and the hickory. Are they dry? Are the growth rings bigger or as big as 1/16"? How deep are they? Just send me a pm or post on my ad. Thanks

Easton