Author Topic: Black Locust  (Read 3492 times)

Offline RyanR

Black Locust
« on: August 08, 2013, 08:46:42 pm »
I am new to the PA message board and was looking for some opinions on black locust vs osage.  >:D I have mainly worked with Osage and I have come across a good supply of locust.  Just wondering the charateristics ...how short can you go with a 27 inch draw. Is all locust created equal? Hopefully this doesn't create any heated debates.  Lol

Offline Joec123able

Re: Black Locust
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2013, 09:00:19 pm »
Wouldn't compare black locust to Osage
I like osage

Offline huisme

• I'm Marc, but not that Marc.
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2013, 09:08:32 pm »
I wouldn't say that BL is better than Osage, but that's mostly because Osage is more versatile and forgiving than BL.

BL has been my fastest bow wood, and it's made my favorite bows, but it's also failed on me quite a bit.

If I had one chance to make one bow, I'd pick Osage. If I had five chances to make as many bows as I could , I'd go BL.
50#@26"
Black locust. Black locust everywhere.
Mollegabets all day long.
Might as well make them short, save some wood to keep warm.

Offline RyanR

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2013, 09:15:55 pm »
If I had access to Osage other than buying a stave I would use it almost exclusively but I want to cut my own wood. :)

Offline DLH

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2013, 09:22:27 pm »
You may be able to find some of Blackhawks posts he has mentioned his experience with locust a few times on here I have stumbled up on searching for info on locust myself I think one thread may have been fairly recent too I can't remember to be honest though

Offline DLH

« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2013, 09:24:16 pm »
Found a good thread this is one of the ones i was thinking of

http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,41370.0.html

Offline Badly Bent

« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2013, 10:39:47 pm »