Author Topic: Questions about a cherry stave  (Read 2252 times)

Offline Tiredtim

Questions about a cherry stave
« on: July 18, 2013, 09:11:10 am »
Hello all.  I am about embark (no pun intended) on making my first cherry bow.  I would like any advice.  Would I need to get rid of all of the sap wood or could I use it for backing? 

Offline autologus

Re: Questions about a cherry stave
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2013, 09:25:39 am »
I believe you treat it like any other white wood and just use the back of the stave as the back of the bow.  I have no actual experience with cherry so someone with actual knowledge may have a different opinion.

Grady
Proud Hillbilly from Arkansas.

blackhawk

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2013, 09:49:28 am »
Did I just hear a loud BOOOOOOM!!!!!!   :laugh:  :laugh:  ;D

What kind of cherry is it specifically?  But no matter what it is I'd back it with rawhide at the very least

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2013, 10:32:40 am »
Id suggest the rawhide as Chris mentioned and I would also make it at least 68" ntn and say 2" wide for now. Cherry is brittle and needs help to be a bow. Ever notice a little wind blows and cherry trees are on the ground first?
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline adb

« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2013, 10:42:43 am »
Cherry will make a bow, if you can keep it from chrysalling. It requires perfect tillering, and is very intolerant of mistakes.

Offline dwardo

« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2013, 11:45:47 am »
Just under the bark is good.
Have only ever had one cherry bow explode and I deserved it. Silk backing can help no end.
Most of my bows were around 62. One even at 59.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2013, 11:52:25 am »