Author Topic: Best bow style for black locust?  (Read 11316 times)

Offline Cloudfeather

Best bow style for black locust?
« on: June 25, 2013, 12:45:20 pm »
For the past couple years, I've been mowing my neighbor's yard(he lives in Texas most of the year). I've kept looking at the bark on a few of the trees that line his property thinking that the bark looked kinda like Osage but the leaves were nowhere close. Finally did some research and discovered that these were black locust trees. Got permission to take a couple off the property. The question is: What kind of bow is best for this wood? Does it behave similarly to Osage at all? Any info would be helpful. Thanks.

Offline Weylin

Re: Best bow style for black locust?
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2013, 01:53:01 pm »
I'm not a BL expert but my understanding is that BL is very strong in compression but is brittle therefore prone to getting compression fractures if overstressed or poorly tillered. Osage is much more elastic and therefore more forgiving of stress and poor tiller. BL can make a really good bow but it must be designed and tillered well or it will start to fail. I can't tell you the best design but I'm sure someone more knowledgeable than I will speak up soon.

Offline Hrothgar

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2013, 01:54:44 pm »
Black locust was a popular wood used in many older Cherokee flatbows, 52"-60". Don't rush the tillering.
" To be, or not to be"...decisions, decisions, decisions.

blackhawk

« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2013, 02:03:40 pm »
Here's a recent thread about black locust so I don't have to repeat myself..its just one of many...do some searches and you'll find more than yiu can read in a day....black locust can do any design as long as its "properly" designed and a proper execution of that design just like anything else basically

http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php?topic=40529.0

Offline Thesquirrelslinger

« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2013, 02:30:42 pm »