Author Topic: Building a watercraft  (Read 2024 times)

Offline david w.

Building a watercraft
« on: June 16, 2013, 05:42:02 pm »
Hey PA! Long time since I've been around. Missed this place.  I'm looking to fish some backwaters of the Mississippi that I would need some sort of boat.  Being a broke college student I can't afford a canoe or kayak.  I was wondering if anyone had made  a simple watercraft.  I was thinking maybe a pontoon type boat with those big Culligan water containers for flotation?
These pretzels are making me thirsty.

if it dont go fast...chrome it - El Destructo

Offline david w.

Re: Building a watercraft
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2013, 06:51:01 pm »
http://www.wikihow.com/Build-a-Plywood-Canoe  How about this?  Looks almost too easy
These pretzels are making me thirsty.

if it dont go fast...chrome it - El Destructo

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2013, 07:38:14 pm »
Google, Plywood Pirouge.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Alpinbogen

« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2013, 07:57:34 pm »
I just finished a skin-on-frame, Greenland style qajaq.  (My 3rd Greenland qajaq and 4th SOF overall.)

Build and first launch video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37_vGzaPWTw

Some pics.

I generally followed Christopher Cunningham's, "Building the Greenland Kayak", but did a few things differently; skinning method a big one.  Materials cost is about that of the cheapest recreational kayak, but with your time, you end up with the Lamborghini of traditional kayaks.  I find that since they paddle so effortlessly, I can cover more water to focus on the hottest fishing spots.

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2013, 08:54:06 pm »
Man, oh Man, that is gorgeous!
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline hedgeapple

« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2013, 01:31:09 am »