Author Topic: yew ELB and more  (Read 4623 times)

Offline AH

Re: yew ELB and more
« Reply #15 on: June 11, 2013, 07:40:06 pm »
I think you need a thicker, stronger, less strechy string...
stronger and less stretchy, yes, but thicker, I doubt it.
I find that thick strings always reduce cast, and also--I am using dacron here.
It is a well known fact, at least in the warbow community, that dacron stretches a ton on these heavier bows and you can see how low the brace height is on the big warbow I'm still working on (second to last photo on the first post) when the string is actually five inches shorter than the bow's nock to nock legnth :o! When I first braced the warbow with dacron it felt like rubber band and there was literally no brace height. ;D
As soon as I get my hands on some fastflight...

Offline WillS

« Reply #16 on: June 11, 2013, 09:26:19 pm »
Just a quick note - and I'm by no means an expert so take this with a pinch of salt but I've encountered this issue when working on warbows myself - when you say the big warbow is using Mary Rose dimensions, does that mean you took your unworked stave, and drew out the profile of a finished Mary Rose bow on the front and sides, then cut to those lines? 

The reason I ask is that I've tried that before, and what tends to happen is that the tips are always way too thin and narrow early on.  If you rough out an untillered bow to the exact dimensions of a finished bow, the tips will of course be tiny in comparison, and all the stresses and strains of tillering will be focused straight onto the tips, rather than the whole bow.  This leads to hinges and whip-tillered bows instead of nice full compass shapes.