Author Topic: silver maple  (Read 5420 times)

Offline swiftjustus

silver maple
« on: November 10, 2007, 03:46:22 pm »
my mother in law had me and my brother in law cut down a huge silver maple last year, and i took a few logs and split them into staves. i put them in my garage and was wondering if this is very good bow wood? they have been in my garage for a little over a year with the bark on, should they be dry enough to use now if its good wood?

thank's

Offline snedeker

Re: silver maple
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2007, 04:12:55 pm »
Silver maple is very light wood.  Not the greatest bow wood by far.

Dave

Offline swiftjustus

« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2007, 04:21:18 pm »
Dave you say it's not the greatest bow wood, but i could still make a bow from it? I'm just a beginner and have limited resources. if i were to make a bow out of it would you have any suggestions

swift

Offline DanaM

« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2007, 06:09:09 pm »
Make it wide and back it with linen, silk or something. Perhaps 2.5: wide.
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2007, 09:12:49 am »
Like Dana said, overbuild it and you might get a bow. Silver maple is one of the lightest and most brittle of the maples. Make it as long and wide as you can.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline swiftjustus

« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2007, 10:26:56 pm »
any idea where i might find linen?

Offline Coo-wah-chobee

« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2007, 10:46:01 pm »
    Jo Jan Fabrics in phone book. Silk and linen in different colors............bob

Offline Kegan

« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2007, 05:36:16 pm »