Author Topic: Reducing chatter marks when ring chasing?  (Read 2004 times)

Offline TacticalFate

Reducing chatter marks when ring chasing?
« on: May 20, 2013, 11:34:47 pm »
I'm new to ring chasing, and the one and a half BL staves I've chased so far have given me lots of trouble with my scraper (Mora knife held at 90 degrees) chattering and leaving marks on the summer ring I'm after. These staves were in my garage with the bark on for three months, and I removed the sapwood a week ago. Is it that my wood is still too wet to chase a ring decently? If not, does anybody have any ideas on how to reduce tool chatter?

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Reducing chatter marks when ring chasing?
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2013, 11:49:59 pm »
See if you can induce a little "tension" in the blade by bending it slightly as you work.  Keep the blade at your 90 or so degrees and alternate between angling slightly to the left, followed by angling slightly to the right.  If the blade is parallel to the chatter marks, all they will ever do is accentuate the chatter.  By angling the blade lightly, the blade will ride over the low spots and knock down the high spots.
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2013, 12:01:45 am »
I would suggest getting or making a good scraper.  My workhorse of a scraper was made from a circular saw blade.  Put a good bur on what ever you use.  And like JW said, angle it a little left and right and it will remove any small washboard areas.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline hedgeapple

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2013, 01:06:27 am »
Also, reducing the amount of wood you take off will help with some troublesome wood.  If the particular stave is  a tuff one, I will work the left side 3 to 6" then work the right side 3 to 6" then work the middle.  Less surface area to create chatter that way.
Dave   Richmond, KY
26" draw

mikekeswick