Author Topic: Board Bow questions  (Read 2222 times)

Offline cook1536

Board Bow questions
« on: May 16, 2013, 12:31:13 pm »
So I am still fairly new to bow building, I have successfully built a hickory stave bow last year and now I am wanting to build a red oak board bow. I have attached some pics of my 1x4 board I picked out at Menards but as I get into this I want to be a little creative with it. As you can see in the drawing I want to back the red oak with 1/8" hickory then add another 3/4" red oak to the grip area then 1/4" walnut and then another 1/4" red oak to finish out the handle area. I read some where that someone put the walnut next to the main oak board in the grip area and it failed so I figured I would put the 3/4 oak next to the main oak board before adding the walnut as it is purely asthectic then the other 1/4 oak board. Glued with Tiebond III. Does anyone see any problems with this design? I know I could back it with silk or paper, but I want the hickory backing.

Daniel
Archery is seeing how far you can get from your target, Bowhunting is seeing how close you can get to your target.

Offline Sasquatch

Re: Board Bow questions
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2013, 12:45:39 pm »
make sure that you leave the bow long enough to meet your draw, but doesn't bend in the handle.  that other guy's handle might have been bending, or glued it wrong.  keep the glue joints surfaces smooth there is no need to rough up the surfaces. thats all for now ;)

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2013, 12:52:04 pm »