Author Topic: Anyone Else the Lonely Archer?  (Read 2217 times)

Offline ncpat

Anyone Else the Lonely Archer?
« on: May 05, 2013, 04:47:24 pm »
Growing up, I was about the only kid in my town who liked archery enough to buy more than a dime store bow & arrow. I know a few others must have indulged, as a few stores sold some equipment. A nearby military base had an archery club, but limited to military families. I read books and kept my Ben Pearson pamphlet until it fell apart. So, I was pretty much self taught. Never hunted or did formal target shooting. My sister gave me a good 16 inch Saunders mat & I used that for several years, also made cardboard stops, etc. Much as I loved it, it would have been more fun though to have others to compete with.

Were any of you the lonely archer in your town?
Remember the heroes of Flight 93.

Offline Slackbunny

Re: Anyone Else the Lonely Archer?
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2013, 07:13:08 pm »
Not many people my age (24) are into it around here. There are a handful of teenagers and quite a few kids, and also a bunch of old guys, but I am kind of on my own. I have gotten a couple of my buddies into shooting casually with me from time to time because I made them bows. But I am the only one who shoots seriously and bowhunts.

There is an archery & paintball club only a few minutes from my home, but they are mostly a wheelie group, and there doesn't seem to be that many people involved in it. The paintball section of their business keeps them going mostly I think.

Offline ncpat

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2013, 07:24:44 pm »
I have seen a lot of people into compounds the last 20 years or more. I never cared much for them, never even shot one. I think I am among the few traditional archers in my area, far as I know.

Offline cracker

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2013, 11:12:13 pm »