Author Topic: Newbie Ash backed red Elm bow - need a hand with tillering  (Read 9291 times)

Offline dobson

Hey guys I could do with some help tillering my new bow. In the past I have always, always made a hash of  tillering, especially with a long string so hopefully with a few second opinions I hope not to rush into any mistakes!

So far its belly has been roughed out into a D, the back has been rounded on the edges and it bends slightly in floor tiller. I am aiming for anything between 45- 60 pounds at 28 inches, The bow measures just above 72 inches. This is my very first try with my new tiller tree:

Bow at tension (6 inches)

At 10 inches (4 Inches if you take away the slack)

To me the left limb (bottom) is bending far more than the right but as said any advice is more than welcome

Cheers

Liam

« Last Edit: May 05, 2013, 01:37:09 pm by dobson »

Offline adb

Re: Newbie Ash backed red Elm bow - need a hand with tillering
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2013, 12:46:31 pm »
Have you rounded off the back of the stave yet? If not... that should be the first thing you do. Next, continue to floor tiller, and get rid of the long string! A long string to me is one that is the same length as the bow.

Also, you haven't told us anything about how long your stave is, and what you're trying to end up with. You never want to draw your stave past final length and weight. Are you using some sort of scale, or just guessing?

For me, I get the middle of the bow moving first, and then bring the tips around last. If you do it the other way, you might end up whip tillered, with a lot of set.

In your pics, your stave is not really bending at all.

Offline adb

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2013, 12:49:41 pm »
This is what my last warbow looked like on the tiller... maple backed yew, 90#@30", 76" ntn, bottom limb on the left.

Offline dobson

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2013, 01:45:08 pm »