Author Topic: slippery elm?  (Read 1411 times)

Offline turtle

• PA1007207
slippery elm?
« on: April 17, 2013, 10:26:57 pm »
   I cut this log today and think it is slippery elm. Leaves were just starting to bud so no leaaf pics. Just wondered if anyone could tell for sure as i have never worked with it before. Split it debarked and sealed it so its going to get tried either way.
Steve Bennett

Offline TRACY

Re: slippery elm?
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2013, 10:35:39 pm »
Bark and heartwood match for red elm. You probably noticed after removal of the bark why it's called slippery elm. Makes a good wood for bows.

Tracy
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

blackhawk

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2013, 11:01:10 pm »
Yuppers...how easy did the bark peal Steve? I've got chainsawitis n needing to cut some whitewood this weekend,but waiting for the sap to be up so the bark  slips off easy peasy

Offline okie64

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2013, 11:25:59 pm »
Thats a good looking piece of elm there turtle, looks like it split nice and straight too. Never had the chance to work with slippery elm but its elm so Im sure its probably good stuff.

Blackhawk, Ive had a bad case of chainsawitis for a couple of weeks now but havent had a chance to fire it up yet. I was working at a house yesterday that had some little hickories growing in the woods next to it and I couldnt stand it, I ended up taking my keyhole saw to one of em and the bark peeled off in 2 big pieces. It was a great feeling!

Offline turtle

• PA1007207
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2013, 12:18:38 am »
Didnt peel like okies hickory but i peelled off in long strips with a dull draw knife. Am going to try to cut a large perssimon next week if i make it somewhere to get shelac first. Used almost all i had today on the elm.
Steve Bennett

Offline sleek

« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2013, 06:22:03 am »