Author Topic: A simple question about tillering limbs on an ELB  (Read 1766 times)

Offline dobson

A simple question about tillering limbs on an ELB
« on: April 17, 2013, 11:16:55 am »
Hey im a newbie to these forums, hope I might be able to get a straight answer

Before I took a break from bow making I built 3 English longbows all of which were poor to mediocre at best particularly when it came to tiller. Years later I have decided to return and despite my initial optimism I think I was a tad bit too enthusiastic and naive and soon ended up ruining an ash stave with a terrible hinge and almost comically bad tiller! having a look around I didn't realize how detremental using a long string can be if you use it for too long so ill make sure to be careful when I use it as much on my next bow but there's another issue I have encountered

I have never really managed to nail this down: I understand it is normal for ELB's to have a shorter bottom limb which is stiffer due to the handle grip.

However I have always done drastic work on the lower limb during tillering to try and get it to bend equally with the longer top limb is this right? or should the lower limb always be kept slightly stiffer than the top limb?

secondly when you place the bow on the tillering tree/stick should it be in the center or the upper 1" of the grip?

sorry if these questions seem stupid

Dobson
« Last Edit: April 17, 2013, 11:38:37 am by dobson »

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: A simple question about tillering limbs on an ELB
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2013, 11:32:53 am »
Your first consideration when building an ELB style bow is to use the proper wood(compression strong) and/or the proper design(flatter cross section) for less compression srong woods.