Author Topic: Hatchet advice  (Read 12159 times)

Offline Caveman_Sam

Hatchet advice
« on: April 04, 2013, 08:28:57 am »
Hello! Im looking to turn split wood into bow staves.

I have no experience with this sort of thing, but I have a lot of enthusiasm and a will to learn.

Everyone seems to be going mad for Gransfors Bruks at the moment.  To a complete noob The pricetag is high, but surprisingly affordable when compared with high end knives. Are they really that good? 

The carpenters Axe by GB would seem to be the most logically named axe for the job.. However I have no experience with an axe with that bit shape.  It also have the seeming advantage of being able to double more as a knife due to the straight blade. If it can chop wood too, and it is better at carpentry work then it has a wider range of use and would be a better one off choice. 

If the straight blade is in fact a hinderance to chopping, and even woodworking then the wildlife hatchet seems to be a more manageable sized, conventional shaped axe compared to the small forest axe, which has the reputation as the best camping all rounder.. but I am looking primarily for the best tool for roughing out my staves. 

advice on these axes as well as any other quality, but well priced ones you can recommend gratefully received!

Thanks

Sam

Offline gpw

Re: Hatchet advice
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2013, 08:57:36 am »
  Sam , after trying many axes/hatchets over the years , our favorite is a “broadaxe" style hatchet ,a basilled edge, also called a side axe, beveled on one side only  (right hand for me) , and allows much more precise wood removal than the usual double edge...   JMHO

Like this one ... http://www.fullsource.com/cooper-tools-11554ct/

Offline CaptainBeaky

• Maker of stuff
    • Westmead Artificing
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2013, 10:24:51 am »
Gransfors do make some very nice axes, if somewhat pricey.