Author Topic: First Black Locust bow in the works.  (Read 2939 times)

Offline twisted hickory

First Black Locust bow in the works.
« on: April 10, 2013, 10:04:26 pm »
So on Monday I did well on my endrocrine exam and decided to reward my self with a special treat to myself.......6 hours of whittling on a new Black locust stave! :o I cut a nice tree down a month ago and got 8 nice staves out of them. Some of the staves you could get two bows from. This bow came out of the smallest stave.
I have never worked black locust before so we will see how this thing comes out. It has two pin knots and one bigger one that does not show in the back.
Aside from drying time I am going to see how long this thing will take to make. I always wondered how much time it takes so I will keep track and keep updated as I do I will guess 20 hours. The stave has not been aged but the roughed out to floor tiller stage the bow is currently setting beside my wood stove to dry it out. We will see how it works. I will begin the straightening process after one week so next thursday will begin that part. I will post more picts after that is done. It should be dry by then as the humidity in my mud room next to the stove is 25-25%
I am kinda new to this so any advice would be gladly considered ;)
Thanks for looking,
Greg

Offline bow101

Re: First Black Locust bow in the works.
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2013, 10:23:10 pm »
So far it looks real fine, can't wait till I get working on some of my cuttings.   8)     Is 1 month to semi tillering to soon...?, am I wrong 'bout this....... :o
"The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are."  Joseph Campbell

Offline twisted hickory

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2013, 10:36:34 pm »
So far it looks real fine, can't wait till I get working on some of my cuttings.   8)     Is 1 month to semi tillering to soon...?, am I wrong 'bout this....... :o