Author Topic: Black locust standing dead?  (Read 1868 times)

Offline Youngboyer2(billyf)

• Live by the man-née and the sa-wa.
Black locust standing dead?
« on: April 01, 2013, 07:53:06 pm »
I got quite a bit of black locust during a late summer storm, two of the logs(I could just about fit my arms around them) had been standing dead. I split them and sealed them, the bark was peeling already so I used the wedge to take the rest off. It doesn't look buggy & not much checking, but before I go and chase a ring I was wondering if it was worth it... I have never worked with this wood before and don't know what to expect.
Will having been standing dead adversely effect it?
Billy
"You speak Treason!" "Fluently"-Robin of Locksley
When people ask "why didn't you do that the first time" you can be sure that they  have never made a bow before.

blackhawk

Re: Black locust standing dead?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2013, 08:27:57 pm »
As long as the heartwood is still good looking it'll more than likely be OK...I've made bows from dead standing locust

Offline soy

• pm106221
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2013, 08:37:08 pm »
I say give it a whirl ;)
Is this bow making a sickness? or the cure...

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2013, 09:18:14 pm »
I tried dead standing locust from here and it failed. It actually delaminated like a fungi got into the early wood only. The late wood was as hard as a rock and solid. This might not be the case where you live. Give it a try...just be alert.  ;)
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Cardboard_Duck

• Winter Haven, FL
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2013, 09:24:08 pm »
I made an eastern woodlands style bow from a dead standing black locust, it seemed to work just fine.
>>>---------->

Offline richardzane

• active Wyandot tribal member
    • richardzanesmith.wordpress.com
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2013, 11:45:06 pm »