Author Topic: intro and questions  (Read 4012 times)

jdwilltx

intro and questions
« on: October 29, 2007, 12:43:16 pm »
My name is Jeremy and I am from north central Texas.  I have been hanging out here for a couple of weeks.  I am new to primitive archery and pretty much archery all together.  I am working on my first bow.  It is a red oak board with a redcedar handle.  I am trying to tiller it.  It doesnt look to bad.  Sorry no pictures yet.  So I have some questions.  I dont have a bow scale.  The only one I have seen was about $40.  So I am poor at the moment and didnt get it.  Any alternatives?  Maybe a cheaper way to get one?  Also I called my local archery shop to ask about Dacron B-50.  He got a little cranky and told me he didnt carry that "kind of stuff".  There is another shop but no one is answering the phone.  Where can I get some string?  Is there something else I can use until I find the Dacron?  Thanks.

Offline DanaM

Re: intro and questions
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2007, 12:49:36 pm »
Welcome aboard you will like here.
For weight you could try using a 5 gal bucket with water in it, water weighs 8.34 lbs per gal so a 5 gallon
bucket will weigh 42 lbs plus the weight of the bucket, also if you have a bathroom scale you can use a tillering stick
resting on the the scale then as you draw the bow the weight will show on the scale.

B-50 is available from 3 Rivers Archery just do a google search for 3 Rivers

Good luck and keep us posted.
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2007, 12:52:31 pm »