Author Topic: Pretty sure this is Mullberry am I right ? (tree id)  (Read 4971 times)

Offline seminolewind

Pretty sure this is Mullberry am I right ? (tree id)
« on: March 15, 2013, 04:42:44 pm »
Found this tree in the woods near my property. This tree will yeild some very nice staves if it is good bow wood. There are ripening berries on it very broad bright green leaves. I live near Tampa, FL.

Thanks guys !
"Those that beat their swords into plowshares will plow for those who do not." Thomas Jefferson

Elijah,
Tampa, FL.

Offline nineworlds9

• Toxophile
Re: Pretty sure this is Mullberry am I right ? (tree id)
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2013, 04:57:59 pm »
No answer for you I'm a noob at bowyering, but noticed your handle and laughed- we've got a couple buffet restaurants up here in the Tallahassee area called 'Seminole Wind'. Lol

Offline autologus

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2013, 05:26:20 pm »
You are correct that is a Mulberry.

Grady
Proud Hillbilly from Arkansas.

Offline DavidV

« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2013, 05:46:38 pm »
Yeah, it's red mulberry.
Springfield, MO

Offline Jmilbrandt

« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2013, 05:47:07 pm »
Looks like mulberry to me.
SW Utah

Offline munkinstein

« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2013, 05:55:04 pm »
Found this tree in the woods near my property. This tree will yeild some very nice staves if it is good bow wood. There are ripening berries on it very broad bright green leaves. I live near Tampa, FL.

Thanks guys !

What you have there is mulberry.  I'm very sure of it.  The fruits are a dead give-away.  Whether it is white or red mulberry I am not 100% sure.  In winter the leaf scars contain 4 or more little dots similar to beech but beech has very obvious bark.  Is mulberry any good for bow wood?

Offline seminolewind

« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2013, 06:38:07 pm »
Thanks guys looks like I'll be getting out the saw and some wedges! Anyone have experience with this wood? And wanna give advice?