Author Topic: yew sapwood...thicker is better?  (Read 3513 times)

Offline AH

yew sapwood...thicker is better?
« on: March 04, 2013, 08:03:52 pm »
I was reading in the TBB volume one, and on page 239-240 of the paperback version, it says that thicker sapwood is better on yew bows because it shifts the neutral plane closer to the belly, so more work is being done by the tension-strong sapwood. At the same time, I have heard people say that you want to have thin sapwood too. Since I am not that experienced with yew, what do you guys have to say?

Offline AH

Re: yew sapwood...thicker is better?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2013, 08:16:05 pm »
Del?

Offline burn em up chuck

« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2013, 08:39:30 pm »
    the rule of thumb is 1/4" sapwood. so both statements can be true. I have done it both ways. In my opinion always use your own judgement for what you are trying to achieve.
    Example 1 ; if you have 3/4" of sapwood and are building heavy longbow leave it.
    Example 2 ; same piece of wood only you want a 35# longbow, reduce sapwood by 1/2" leave 1/4" of
                       sapwood and cover back w/raw hide.
    hope that made since.

chuck
Honored to say I'm a Member of the

Twin Oaks Bowhunters club

Offline Weylin

« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2013, 09:59:16 pm »
Really, the important thing is that you have heartwood travelling all the way out through the tips on the belly. 1/4" sapwood assures this. 1/2" sapwood is pushing your luck and will likely end up with little to no heartwood near the tips.  ,Just make sure your belly is all heartwood and it will make a fine bow. I think part of it is aesthetic for a lot of people though. They like to see the thin sapwood and lots of heartwood. But I've heard of and seen plenty of really nice yew bows with thick sapwood.

Offline Roy

« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2013, 01:40:17 am »