Author Topic: Newbie...  (Read 1992 times)

Offline Lyagooshka

Newbie...
« on: February 11, 2013, 11:51:53 am »
Hello all.  I am new to the site.  I am also new to archery.  I got into hunting very late in life.  I started with rifle / compound, even crossbow, but quickly found they were not for me.  I moved to hunting with a longbow.  I truly enjoy it.  I do not plan to change for a while, but my ultimate goal is to hunt with a selfbow, wood arrows, goose feathers and glass broadhead (still might have to use dakron for the string though  ;D ).  Again, brand new here, but I figured it was time to start.

This is actually my second post.  My first was saying “Wow” to Almostpighunter for his Crooked, Gnarled, Knotty, Twisted and full of Holes Bow.  That is one of the most beautiful bows I have seen.  To me, there is great beauty in simplicity and function, and that bow looks like it’s got both.  It’s also one of my reasons for wanting to go to primitive tackle.  I am limited only by my own creativity (and bank account  ::) ).

Again, I am happy with my longbows for now.  I hope to even take an animal one day, but we’ll have to see.  So now I am in the information gathering / experimenting phase.  And this is where I could really use some help.  In the beginning, I simply want to “make some stuff”.  I am not trying to be “authentic” or use hide glue, sinew, etc.  That being said, I definitely want it to be a selfbow, and I want it to be from some local woods (here in PA I see quite a bit of Maple, Oak, Black Walnut).  I also would like to know what varnish / sealer to use and what sizes / weights are appropriate.  Any help is most appreciated.  I look forward to starting my new adventure(s).  Be well.

Alex

:)
"I have known many meat eaters to be far more nonviolent than vegetarians." - Mahatma Gandhi

Offline ionicmuffin

Re: Newbie...
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 12:07:18 pm »