Author Topic: Beginner at bow making...  (Read 6620 times)

Offline Barefoot_Jake

• "I don't regard nature as a spectator sport."
Beginner at bow making...
« on: February 08, 2013, 10:12:28 pm »
Sorry I dont know if there is alot of posts like this but I am really new to all this. A few weeks ago I found videos about primitive hunting and bows and just fell in love with the idea and have really want to make a bow. The thought of making everything yourself is such a awesome idea and sounds so much fun! So my dilemma is I live in central Florida about 45 minutes from Tampa Bay and the woods behind my house only has oak and this other type of tree that I cannot identify, Ive looked at websites to help me identify this tree but I just cant find a match. So i was wondering if any you guys on here could help me  identify the tree and tell me if it is any good for making a bow.

Also on another note how hard is oak to use to make a bow and what are other woods in Central Florida that are good for making bow.

Sorry to bother yall with my idiocy on bow  :-[

Heres one tree

Thought this one looked good for a stave 

Close up on the bark

The leafs on a sapling, all the of this type of tree have lost their leafs right now

Can trees with little limbs coming off the sides still be used?

a whole bunch of the type of tree
For this is the message that ye heard from the beginning, that we should love one another. 1 John 3:11 KJV

Need any help with anything? I will gladly try to help you

Offline seabass

Re: Beginner at bow making...
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2013, 10:56:49 pm »
go to the how-tos and build a long page and click on Jawges archery website.there is a bunch of info for a beginner.this page  will help you out building your first bow.
Middletown,Ohio

Offline ojibwatbowyer

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2013, 11:06:02 pm »