Author Topic: Interested in bow building  (Read 7895 times)

NorthShore

Interested in bow building
« on: October 20, 2007, 02:07:31 pm »
I've never built a bow before,but I'm going to try it it sometime this winter.I got a whole bunch of questions.How do you determine what length the bow should be?What determines the draw weight?How long should your wood dry after being cut?How do you put backing on a bow and what can you make it out of?

Offline DanaM

Re: Interested in bow building
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2007, 02:48:19 pm »
Welcome to the Primitive Archer website. I would suggest at a minimum that you read thru some of
the older posts on here. But you really need a good book I would suggest Paul Comstocks "A Bent Stick" or "Traditional Bowyers Bible Vol 1"
Also check these sites out.

http://residents.bowhunting.net/sticknstring/brdbows.html

http://mysite.verizon.net/georgeandjoni/archer.html

Do some research first it would take forever to answer your questions we will gladly help you along.
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Beleg813

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2007, 03:41:56 pm »
I've never built a bow before,but I'm going to try it it sometime this winter.I got a whole bunch of questions.How do you determine what length the bow should be?What determines the draw weight?How long should your wood dry after being cut?How do you put backing on a bow and what can you make it out of?