Author Topic: Shaving Horse vs wood vise  (Read 13752 times)

Offline PaulP

Shaving Horse vs wood vise
« on: October 18, 2007, 05:47:02 pm »
I am very new; so this may have been answered some time back.   

I am in the process of gathering basic bow building tools.

Would I be ahead building or buying a wooden shaving horse or would my shop vise do the job.

Thanks,

Paul

Offline david w.

Re: Shaving Horse vs wood vise
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2007, 06:10:12 pm »
i use a vise for everything. it suits me fine but I am new to bowbuilding so i would wait till someone else reponds for an answer
These pretzels are making me thirsty.

if it dont go fast...chrome it - El Destructo

Beleg813

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2007, 06:46:15 pm »
I am very new; so this may have been answered some time back.   

I am in the process of gathering basic bow building tools.

Would I be ahead building or buying a wooden shaving horse or would my shop vise do the job.

Thanks,

Paul

Well, considering I don't have a vise or the money, or the space...I'm feeling pretty primitive...I just sit on my board and go crazy. This is also perhaps why I may finish my bow hopefully before I'm too old to shoot it (or crack it tillering :P)

I would assume either one would work great--whatever floats your boat and you are comfortable with, can afford, have room for, etc.

Loogster

« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2007, 08:09:30 pm »
I would just use a vice to get started then as happens to most people you will get addicted and then it might be time to invest in a shaving horse. If you dont have a vice already I would recommend just using a few C clamps on a rail if possible. Most of the time when starting a bow, thats my first step on getting the general shape before moving on to a vice for tillering and all that fun and time consuming things  ;D

Offline Dane

« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2007, 09:29:48 pm »