Author Topic: Weather Proofing  (Read 2961 times)

Offline Fumbles

Weather Proofing
« on: January 23, 2013, 01:37:14 pm »
Generally I use Tung Oil as a sealant for my bows, however, this product is not available in my new area. Has anyone here tried using Thompson's Waterseal or Miniwax Helmsman Spar Urethane to weather proof their bows?

I have no experience with these sealants and am curious if they crack or somehow endanger the integrity of the wood.

-Fumbles

Offline Will H

Re: Weather Proofing
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2013, 01:56:05 pm »
I've used that spar urathane a bunch. It works really well ;) I usually apply it with the cheap sponge brush, one per coat. Also, get it in the gloss. If you want a less shiny finish use the satin in the spray can for your last coat. Here's a link to one of the first bows I used this stuff on so you can see what kind of results it can have ;) http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,29560.0.html
Proud Member of Twin Oaks Bowhunters
           Clarksville, Tennessee

"Middle Tennessee is the place to be"

Offline crooketarrow

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2013, 02:36:48 pm »
  Try wax and a hair dryer. I've been waxing my personal bows for at least 15 years. Only problem is it has to be redone now and then. Bows I build for people I use POLY. unless it's ta;lked about. Other sealents cover the wood to water proff, heated up wax go's deep in the wood cells. Far deeper than any rub on sealent.  And the same time wax allows the wood to breath. Very important in the life of wood bows.
DEAD IS DEAD NO MATTER HOW FAST YOUR ARROW GETS THERE
20 YEARS OF DOING 20 YEARS OF LEARNING 20 YEARS OF TEACHING

Offline Will H

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2013, 03:21:57 pm »
I've also used parrifin wax to some extent. It's quick and easy to apply :) great way to seal an all wood bow but if you have skins or other backings not so much ;)
           Clarksville, Tennessee

Offline Fumbles

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2013, 03:47:13 pm »