Author Topic: Douglas Fir?  (Read 5729 times)

Offline kevinsmith5

Douglas Fir?
« on: January 02, 2013, 11:03:09 pm »
I dropped by my local candy store (aka hardwood lot) and picked through the scrap pile after work today. Found an 8" x 3/4" x 40" piece of very straight grained aromatic wood. The guys at the lot thought it was either western cedar or Douglas fir. I haven't ever worked with either so I don't know myself. I took the piece home, ripped it into 12 strips and ran it through the dowel jig to form shafts. The shafts are are very straight, very light, and very flexible. Can anyone take a look and tell what type of wood it is?

Offline Weylin

Re: Douglas Fir?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 12:00:44 am »
I'm no expert on this but my guess from the picture is cedar, not Doug Fir. You should ask Carson (CMB). He knows a lot about arrow shafts and his father makes shafts out of old growth Doug Fir. They're great shafts.

Offline Matt G.

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 12:21:07 am »
Looks like cedar to me too. DF isn't aromatic like cedar is
« Last Edit: January 03, 2013, 02:21:46 am by Matt G. »
Keeping the Faith!
Matt

Offline Jim Davis

• Reparrows
    • Reparrows
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2013, 01:30:46 am »
It does look like red cedar. If it is, you have a nice batch of decay resistant tomato stakes there. ;)

Jim Davis
Jim Davis

Kentucky--formerly Maine

Offline kevinsmith5

« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2013, 08:19:47 am »
Based on how flexible the are (a homemade spine tester is on the to do list) in was already thinking youth arrows at most. I'd have posted a pic of the flex but my lovely assistant was in the tub.