Author Topic: Can I do anything with these Pecan limbs?  (Read 2246 times)

Offline bigbird583

Can I do anything with these Pecan limbs?
« on: January 01, 2013, 01:38:41 pm »
     I have a few Pecan tree's in the yard and I have seen on here that it is a good wood for bow building.  My Dad would kill me if he found out I cut even a twig off of a tree but there are a few limbs that have broke off in a storm, that are in the underbrush.  I can't tell if they have a good straight section without hacking into the jungle.  But I guess my question is would it even be worth the trouble.  I'm pretty new to this but I hear everybody talk about properly seasoning everything and then I read about a bow made from an old fence post.  I'm sure when they built the fence they didn't seal the ends.  So my question is can I do anything with a limb that has been just laying around seasoning?  If it's a nice looking wood, would it be worth digging out and using for tips or handles? 
     Another question while I'm thinking about it.  Seems like I read awhile back,  some use for pecan shells or maybe it was the hull's.  It might have had something to do with trapping.  Any ideas?  That might have been a question for a different form but oh well.

Offline Dictionary

Re: Can I do anything with these Pecan limbs?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2013, 01:43:19 pm »
pecan isnt used much because its hard to find straight peices. If you know there are some straight branches from them that have at least 5 feet of length, i'd say its worth cutting.

Walnut hulls are used for staining wood. It has a nice dark color to it. Not sure about pecan.  Not sure what you are really asking about the fence posts. If it doesnt have insect damage or isnt deteriorating, it should be okay.
"I started developing an eye for those smooth curves as a young man.  Now that my hair is greying and my middle spreading I make bows instead."

-JW_Halverson

Offline Pat B

• Administrator