Author Topic: MOUNTAIN MAPLE!  (Read 9314 times)

Offline Zion

• The blacksmith's mare walks barefoot
MOUNTAIN MAPLE!
« on: December 31, 2012, 03:20:34 am »
So the other day i went skiing up this big mountain (which was futile because there was other 3 feet of snow!) I found some really nice pieces of VM growing all around this creek tho, and there were more for future hauls. I got 7 tho which is fine for me. I also ardy started on one of the smaller ones.

My experience with VM is really limited to 1 or 2 bows. But i'm really wondering how to get a ton of reflex into them. I know that you have to use reaction wood, but can you add even more by heating it to dry it out faster? How long does VM take to season? I noticed with my little test subjects that it seems to be real good after like 7-8 months.

I would really like to get a couple nice bows outa this stuff. Any projects you guys have going would be awesome to see since i'm new to this wood! 
« Last Edit: December 31, 2012, 03:38:59 pm by Zion »
The secret of life is learning to make your own luck.

Offline medicinewheel

Re: VINE MAPLE!
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2012, 03:27:24 am »
Dog looks at them sadly thinking "too big to retrieve..."  :) :) :)
Frank from Germany...

Offline Zion

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2012, 03:34:13 am »
LOL he's just waiting for them to turn into bows so he can chew on them  :o

Offline steve b.

« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2012, 04:06:38 am »
I have not seen all the vine maple in the world but that doesn't look like the stuff I usually see.....?  If it is, then shame on me.  But it looks too straight, rough bark, dark wood, not green.
If it is vm then I don't really have any advice for reflexing other than what you already know and I'm looking forward to the 70# bow I know your going to make from it.....!

Offline Zion

« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2012, 04:27:15 am »