Author Topic: longbow problems...  (Read 3367 times)

Offline catcalls

longbow problems...
« on: January 03, 2013, 01:51:25 pm »
Hello, I'm new to this forum and have a question. I am only 13 years old, but have been shooting recurve bows for as long as I can remember. My current recurve for hunting is a Browning Nomad Stalker II. It is around 50# at 28" and it is no trouble to shoot, and it is pretty smooth shooting and accurate. Well about a week ago I finished a longbow made of oak and back with nylon webbing. It is not accurate at all, has tons of shock, and just doesn't shoot good at all. I reallize this is not the case for every longbow (the one I made is the only one ive ever shot). I am not a complete newbie to woodworking (ive been making quality custom knives for over 2 years now) but would it be best to buy a quality longbow instead of trying to make one?
Thanks
   Jack Perryman

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: longbow problems...
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 02:10:11 pm »
Jack, Our first bows or even our first couple of bows are not the best examples of what a long bow should look like or shoot like. If you think you enjoy trying to make a successful bow, keep trying. You have lots of guys here to help with advise. Posting pics helps us help you so please post pics of your current homemade bow and we will see if we can give you some ideas.
  It will probably take you quite a few bows  before you get one to shoot as smoothly as your recurve. Try not to compare them because it will just frustrate you. All bows are accurate when properly matched with the correct arrow and you learn how to shoot the bow. Most problems folks have shooting simple, "primitive" bows is they don't have the properly spined arrows for that bow.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Roy

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 02:34:37 pm »