Author Topic: Osage Sap Wood  (Read 7229 times)

Offline Josh Wilson

Osage Sap Wood
« on: December 23, 2012, 10:53:19 pm »
I was discussing with two bowyers leaving the sapwood on the back on an osage longbow. One bowyer said in his experience that the sap wood was brittle and cracked, the other bowyer had had great results leaving the sap wood on. What are everyone else's experiences with this?

Offline Weylin

Re: Osage Sap Wood
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2012, 11:22:45 pm »
I have no personal experience but I can say that I have seen plenty of excellent osage bows with sapwood on them.

Offline Bryce

• Global Moderator
  • Pacific Ghost Longbows
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2012, 11:27:24 pm »
I've been told by an old osage bowyer that the sapwood is dead weight. And that the heartwood can do the tension and compression work, and then some.
One with sapwood and one without....still 2 different pieces of wood.
With probably 2 different designs and 2 different shooters.
Clatskanie, Oregon

blackhawk

« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2012, 11:31:29 pm »
It depends on the stave and how it was cared for.

Offline toomanyknots

« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2012, 11:37:48 pm »
Dead weight?, lol. If anything it is probably a bit less weight than the heartwood. I know it is just fine in tension. I have never made a sapwood bellied bow, so I can't attest to it's compression strength,  ;). If there is any detriment, it might not have as high a recovery as heartwood, but that is just a guess on my part. The sapwood backed bows I have made have held there reflex just as well as heartwood bows.
"The way of heaven is like the bending of a bow-
 the upper part is pressed down,
 the lower part is raised up,
 the part that has too much is reduced,
 the part that has too little is increased."

- Tao Te Ching, 77, A new translation by Victor H. Mair

Offline Josh Wilson

« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2012, 04:04:14 pm »
It depends on the stave and how it was cared for.