Author Topic: I'm a beliver in pignut hickory  (Read 3769 times)

Offline Danzn Bar

I'm a beliver in pignut hickory
« on: December 16, 2012, 10:08:23 pm »
I know that some of you guys may think that I am working with an inferior bow wood but I must say Hickory is very tough stuff,  I got a 68" long stave to floor tillered and put a about 3" of reflex in it with some dry heat.  I have always understood that hickory worked very well and I have some experience with bending Osage with dry heat. But this stuff does not work well with dry heat.  I tried to put some reflex (recurve) into the tips and the belly broke across the grain after a very long time heating, even after heavily scorching.  So the stave ended up a little over 64" long.  I shorten the stiff handle to only 8 1/2" long.  The width at the fades is 1 7/8" and the tips are about 1/2" wide. I tillered the bow to about 60# @ 26".  I was looking for about 55 @ 28". I notice a bad hinge showing up about 6" from one of the tips.  I had to cut the stave to 60", Still wanting at least 55# @ 28"again I added alittle reflex to the tips and added some tip reinforcement to the belly.  At 60" the string angle was not what I would like.  The bow seam to stack the last inch or so.  After some carefull tillering and about 50 shots, the bow ended up with a little less than 1" of string follow 58# @ 27.5".  This was my second try at hickory, the first was not dry enough and ended up kind sluggest.  I need about 100 more shots through it before I can call it finished.

My question is:  I live in a humidy area.  I keep the bow dry and in a dry inviorment during the building/tillering stage.  I want to shoot it in (2-300 shots) before I apply the final finish.  Will shellach be Ok for now and then for the final finish a polyurthane?

Integrity is doing the right thing when no one is looking

Offline steve b.

Re: I'm a beliver in pignut hickory
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2012, 11:19:00 pm »
I think so.

Offline Weylin