Author Topic: Yew harvesting question.  (Read 2272 times)

Offline Adam

Yew harvesting question.
« on: December 14, 2012, 06:08:35 pm »
One of the areas I hunt has the foundation of an old ruined farmhouse with an about 20 foot tall yew bush.  There are areas where the wood is up to about 3 inches thick and only has some small twigs (half the diameter of a pencil) for about 6 1/2 feet.  It is under two  50' white pines, so it's fairly well shaded.  I've never used yew before, but all these recent posts have made me jealous.  Should I try to use it, or just let it keep growing?  I unfortunately don't have any pictures and it's a bit of a drive to get there.  Thanks.

Offline Bryce

• Global Moderator
  • Pacific Ghost Longbows
Re: Yew harvesting question.
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2012, 06:13:38 pm »
If its growing like a bush it probably has a low ring count. But even still if there's a stave in there it's worth it.
Clatskanie, Oregon

Offline Adam

« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2012, 07:00:54 pm »
It's growing like a bush with 7 or 8 tall shoots. Only 2 are more than an inch in diameter. If it were another wood, I'd probably pass on it but here in Ohio we're not exactly blessed with an abundance of yew.

Offline rossfactor

• Humboldt County CA
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2012, 07:18:05 pm »
Whether or not to harvest a yew tree is always a tricky situation. Other may have different views.  Personally, I really try to weight the justification for harvesting any tree, but especially a yew tree, because of how slow they grow and because (at least in my area) of other pressure on Yew (specifically harvesting it to produce Taxol which is a cancer fighting drug).