Author Topic: Ocean spray bow tillering questions  (Read 2430 times)

Offline Accipiter

Ocean spray bow tillering questions
« on: December 14, 2012, 06:19:22 pm »
Hello everyone, i'm a newbie here, and trying not to screw up my first nice stave! There's a ton of great advice on these forums so I've been trying not to spam all of you with too many questions, but here's one that's been nagging me:

So, this is the cross section of the broader parts of my limb, with one side sloping off at a different angle than the other. Its not quite as extreme in the wood as it is in my drawing, but it makes it a bit confusing when I'm trying to even up the amount of exposed woods on the sides! Any ideas as to how to deal with this?

Also, since I'm here, can I pick you're brains on where to take off wood when I get back to tillering?

Here's some stats on the bow in general: Clean ocean spray stave, just under 53" ntn. Came from a 1 3/4" branch, so good crown.
Dimensions are around 1 5/16" wide and 3/4" thick at middle, 1 1/4 x 9/16" at mid-limb and 11/16 x 9/16 near the tips.

Aiming for a bendy-handled bow, about #45-50 at 26-27". This wood is crazy dense and not any big knots to speak of, so I think its doable. Currently braced at 2.5" and pulling #32 at 16".

Offline randman

Re: Ocean spray bow tillering questions
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2012, 07:02:11 pm »