Author Topic: Bamboo Back & Belly Reflex Bow ( better full draw pic added as requested)  (Read 11644 times)

Offline dragonman

• virabows.co.uk
Re: Bamboo Back & Belly Reflex/Reflex Bow
« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2012, 08:23:46 pm »
Zion...I'll get a better pic with the bow pulled further
Bushboy...A heatgun is faster, but less uniform. A long slow heat is better.. I think!!
Badly...you pretty much aim for symetry and you have to have a good idea of limb thickness and taper before you start. If the limbs are out of balance, then its 'relatively' easy to tiller with gentle heat and pressure. I'm no expert on these bows though, just trying and learning as I go...
'expansion and compression'.. the secret of life is to balance these two opposing forces.......

Offline Arrowind

« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2012, 09:37:40 pm »
That bow is soooooo cool!!!  Just awesome!  Good job!  I'm with the others, would love to shoot it!
Talking trees. What do trees have to talk about, hmm... except the consistency of squirrel droppings?

Offline Keenan

« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2012, 11:27:17 pm »
Thats is very nice. I bet she smokes an arrow. I did a simlar glue up years ago and it was one of the fastest bows I've built.  The one I did was less reflex and more of a five curve but I really like the looks of that. Congratulations

Offline Carson (CMB)

« Reply #18 on: December 03, 2012, 11:45:05 pm »
Wow, that's sweet looking! the braced and unbraced pictures look the same but reversed. :o

They sure do, I had to go back through to find the unbraced pic.  That is wicked.  4-5 hrs over coals?  That sounds like some serious slow roasting.  Nice work. 
"The bow is the old first lyre,
the mono chord, the initial rune of fine art
The humanities grew out from archery as a flower from a seed
No sooner did the soft, sweet note of the bow-string charm the ear of genius than music was born, and from music came poetry and painting and..." Maurice Thompso

Offline steve b.