Author Topic: Dacron  (Read 3403 times)

Offline Moggy

Dacron
« on: November 02, 2012, 12:09:54 pm »
Do most of you fellas run Dacron on your self Bows and Laminates?

Offline sharpend60

Re: Dacron
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2012, 01:44:58 pm »
I think most do but thier missing out.

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2012, 01:52:57 pm »
Fast Flite.  Nothin' but.  I use Dacron for tillering and long string.  Others on here will swear by Dacron however.  The FF is thinner, lighter, stronger and less stretch.  I have heard people complain that it will damage a self bow.  I've been using it for 15 years or so and have seen not the slightest bit of damage to any bow from it, ever.  It can cut into the nocks on softer wood, but I add a few extra strands at the loop and the knot to fatten it up and strengthen those areas.  I also have been using tip overlays which eliminate that issue altogether.  Fear not, the next guy will extole the virtues of B-50.  Your good either way IMO.
Liberty, In God We Trust, E Pluribus Unum.  Distinctly American Values.

Offline k-hat

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2012, 02:27:08 pm »
Dacron nothing but!  But that's only cause i'm workin on the cheap right now.  nothing against fast-flight but the cost.  What i haven't considered is maybe the cost balances out since you need fewer strands? 

Offline sharpend60

« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2012, 02:39:17 pm »
You can get away with half as much FF.
You might need a bit more serving though.
To double serve where you nock your arrows.

Offline Bowman

« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2012, 03:22:19 pm »
Dacron is good and FF is also good. I think dacron looks more authentic on selfbows, but FF on flight bows will give you a little bit extra. Use nock overlays and horn. FF is the most recommended  on English War bows.
 :)
"for veik var kongens bue......."

Offline sharpend60

« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2012, 03:52:32 pm »