Author Topic: White oak Molle  (Read 3497 times)

Offline lesken2011

• Kenny
White oak Molle
« on: September 29, 2012, 05:09:37 pm »
I've been working on a white oak molle for the last month, or so. It is my first attempt at a rawhide back. I finally got it to weight, today and shot it a couple dozen times. Just have to finish shooting in, skin it, and put my finish on it. It is 64" n2n and 52 lbs @ 26". Here are a few pics..
Here it is braced at 6".

Here it is at 23"

Here is a pic of the handle build up with a 1/4" piece of poplar...

I also put a piece on front on top of the rawhide.

Here is a side view of the handle.

I still have to do some rounding when sanding. Here is a pic right after unstringing. There was slack in the string when I first unstrung it. I just noticed the slack is gone by the time I got my camera and took the pic. Set looks like a 1/2 to 1 inch of set.

Here is a pic of the zebrawood tip.

« Last Edit: January 01, 2019, 10:17:13 am by lesken2011 »
For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast.

Ephesians 2:8-9

Kenny from Mississippi, USA

Offline ionicmuffin

Re: White oak Molle
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2012, 05:14:07 pm »
wow, nice job! i really like how it looks  ;D
Amo innectis arcus- I love crafting bows (latin)

Offline half eye

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2012, 06:24:05 pm »
Kenny,
      keep a picture of that bow in case Websters needs an illustration of "perfect tiller" I know them Mollegabets shoot SWEET but that has got to be extra nice.... 8) If you cant kill deer with that bow ya need shootin lessons, eh >:D
rich

Offline tattoo dave

• Rockford, MI
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2012, 06:39:31 pm »
Man that turned out nice!!!

Tattoo Dave
Rockford, MI

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2012, 07:43:03 pm »
Very nice Kenny.  Great bend in that dude!