Author Topic: UK Newbie Questions  (Read 1793 times)

Offline archerctb

UK Newbie Questions
« on: September 27, 2012, 07:57:06 pm »
Hi all,

I'm new to bow building, if not to archery, and I am hoping you good people can help me with a few questions.

I am about to start on my first bow. I have some Ash which is reasonably straight grained at either end but with some run offs in the centre. My plan is to use the grain end on and put the run offs in the stiff handle area of a flatbow style bow, to help I am planning to back it with linen. Does this sound like a reasonable plan?

Thinking ahead I am already looking for wood for future bows, I know - I haven't even started yet and already I am addicted. I live fairly centrally in London here in the UK and there aren't a lot of places I know of to get wood, the local DIY shops sell nothing much but pine and most of the timber yards are trade only. There are some Osage staves on eBay but they are fairly pricey or there is a timber merchant (S.L. Hardwoods) who can supply red oak and maple boards but I won't know what they are like until I order some. So, the question is, do I buy an Osage stave from eBay and hope I can get 2 bows out of it or do I buy a couple of 4" x 1" boards of maple and red oak and plan to make a couple of laminated staves? Unless anyone can suggest another option that is.

Craig.

Offline lostarrow

Re: UK Newbie Questions
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2012, 01:40:43 am »