Author Topic: Need a little help.  (Read 6050 times)

Offline akila

Need a little help.
« on: September 22, 2007, 08:03:47 pm »
Hey guys i wach your forum and i must tell you that its grate.I learnd verry much from you.Sorry for my english its realy bad.I have this 2 peaces of hornbeam that are allmost56" and 62" in length,and i wood like to ask you what dimension shoul i use for this 2 peaces of wood.I usuly make long bows so this is my first time when i have so small wood in length and i dont know what to do.FRom whatt i have read here i understand that its better to use a bending handle gesign whenn the wood its not to long but i dont realy know whatt thicknes shoul  be the handle so that he can bend and also whatt wide.I hope that you guys understand whatt i try to explain here...sorry again for my english....i understand veryy well your language but whenn i have to wright it..... :-[.Im from Romania btw...and  here wi are a fiew entusiastic guys who like to build bows but wi are not so experience like you  and i like your forum ....its realy grate.Thks...and take care.

I forgot to ask you iff it can be done something with that propelor.This wass a hornbeam log 10" in diameter and i just got 3 pieces oute of him..this 2 small and one longer for a long bow...thats all...he split like crazy...the log wass twisted. :(.Well thats it....i hope that it can be done something with themm.BYe bye.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2007, 08:07:34 pm by akila »

a finnish native

Re: Need a little help.
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2007, 08:37:42 pm »
those staves are not too short at all.  ;) 60" is 150 cm. If the wood is not dry I would start by cutting it to 5x5 cm pieces (2x2 inches) and let it season for a while until it's dry. when drying the propeller can also be forced out. strap it so a board and leave it there to dry.