Author Topic: Board bow tool advice?! Newbie here!  (Read 4546 times)

Offline hurlbri1

Board bow tool advice?! Newbie here!
« on: September 20, 2012, 11:58:45 am »
First, thanks to all who post regularly on this site--I feel like I've learned a lot just from reading and looking at all the awesome bows...wow!

I've got the bent stick and TBB Vol 1 and lots of internet(s) research but I am 0 for 4 on hickory board bows.  I live in the big city and can't make my own staves from trees.  I think 2 of the 4 were grain and the other 2 rushed tillering...patience is pretty important.

A personal goal--I do not want to back the bow--I want a true self bow.  I also got deer tags and a turkey tag for this season here in Illinois.  I am not expecting much, but hey, I gotta at least have a bow, right?

Tools--I have an array of rasps, a spoke shave I can't seem to use real well despite all the youtube videos I watch, a Surform rasp, and my Fiskars hatchet which has been amazing as a scraper!

My question--on flatbows, where most of the 2" wide limb is flat, what tool do you recommend?  The surform rasp and other rasps does not remove wood evenly and if really flat, the surform rasp tends to leave thin scars in the wood...I need uniform wood removal...

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

-Brian

"All science is either physics or stamp collecting" -Ernest Rutherford

Offline autologus

Re: Board bow tool advice?! Newbie here!
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2012, 12:45:29 pm »
I don't use a whole lot of tools, I use a 6" hand plane, 4-n-1 rasp/file,half a pair of scissors,  lots of 60 grit sandpaper, oh and a G0555LX Grizzly Band Saw, guess I cheat a little but the band saw sure speeds thing up.
Proud Hillbilly from Arkansas.

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2012, 06:38:31 pm »