Author Topic: Core Lamination???  (Read 10613 times)

Offline Wooden Spring

Core Lamination???
« on: September 26, 2012, 10:24:44 am »
OK, stupid newbie question... What is the purpose of a core lamination in a tri-lam bow?
If I've got plenty enough material for a hickory backed Ipe longbow, would a core lamination actually do anything?
(Incidentally, I only want about a 100# to 120# bow)

Furthermore, will this design work to produce a 100# bow?
Note that the bow arches from nock to center, there are no straight line cuts in the bow. I used to be an architect, so I shaped this like I would have drawn a pre-stressed beam. (holds more load) But I'm not sure how that would transfer over to bowmaking.
HOPEFULLY I can get the picture to post...

"Everything that moves shall be food for you..." Genesis 9:3

Offline adb

Re: Core Lamination???
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2012, 11:20:22 am »
Your dimensions look perfect for a reasonably heavy bow. You 'only want' 100 - 120#? That's ambitious. Especially if this is your first heavy bow. Making a 100+# bow is not easy. Well... a good 100+# bow, anyway, with good cast and little set.
Yes, a core material is structural. With a tri-lam construction, you end up with 3 layers, and 2 glue planes. If done properly, the glue joints are stronger than the surrounding wood. Each glue joint creates 2 opposing forces at the joint of tension and compression. The core material is important. I use only strong hardwoods, like purpleheart, yew, osage, cherry or bloodwood. Some people think the core material doesn't matter, but that is not true. If you're making a FG bow it is true... the core does nothing more than hold the FG, and the FG does all the work.