Author Topic: If you are required to use a rifle....  (Read 7697 times)

Offline johnston

If you are required to use a rifle....
« on: September 09, 2012, 02:49:45 am »
I work in a shop full of hunters and every year get invited to
hunt on several leases. Sociable guy that I am, usually I accept.
If possible I take a bow but sometime that is not allowed, rifle
only.

In these cases I use a 1967 top eject Mod. '94. I get some
 frowns cause a lot of today's hunters have never used iron sights.
Always pick my shots and ain't missed yet but was just wondering....
What would you guys use?

Lane

Offline Josh B

Re: If you are required to use a rifle....
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2012, 03:05:00 am »
A '94 with iron sights is hard to beat in the woods.  Most of the time where I hunt out here in the flatlands of ks, the shots are a little long for open sights.  In that case, I use a '98 mauser chambered in 30-06 that my grandpa and I sporterized about 20 years ago.  It has a 3 x 9 Burris  on it.  My peepers aren't what they once were so the scope helps me reach out there better.  I haven't rifle hunted for a few years though.  I should probably get the ol girl out and warm her up a bit.  Josh

Offline H Rhodes

« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2012, 04:33:15 am »
I hunted for years with a lever gun with iron sights.  I wish my eyes would let me now, but it doesn't go with my bifocals....     I very seldom pick a rifle up for deer anymore, but if I have to put something in the freezer, it's a scoped 30-06 bolt action. 
Howard
Gautier, Mississippi

Offline ErictheViking

« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2012, 12:36:30 pm »