Author Topic: New member saying hi with question  (Read 2081 times)

Offline Corrado

New member saying hi with question
« on: August 28, 2012, 11:45:21 am »
Hi all. Ive been visiting the sight off and on for a couple weeks and finally decided to join. Unfortunately, I'm new to being a bowyer so don't have too much experience to contribute.  Earlier this year I  was inspired to give selfbow making a try. My first attempt was a with an ironwood stave  that ended in failure. My second was with pignut hickory. I did a bit more research on this one, took my time and made a pretty descent bow ( I think ). It's 65 inch nock to nock and pulls 47 pounds @ 28inches.

My main reason for making a self bow was for making a hunting weapon. I'm hoping to take a deer this year with the bow I made. This leaves me with an issue I'm not sure of.  Since Im new to this, I can't really judge the efficiency of the bow.  I don't want to to shoot an underpowered arrow at a deer and potentially wound it.

Yesterday I visited a friend who just bought a chrono. And shot a few arrows. My average speed was around 150 fps with a 400 grain carbon arrow.  Using the kinetic energy conversion it endss up around 20 pounds of energy. I've always heard that 30-35 foot pounds was on the bottom end for game such as deer. Did I build a flop or am I good.. I know a good broad head and tuned arrow will go a long way. Just asking for input .. Thanks

Offline ionicmuffin

Re: New member saying hi with question
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2012, 12:26:47 pm »
if your bow is shooting 47 lbs at 28 in and its shooting 150 fps, with a 500-600 grain arrow you should be albe to kill a deer. just place your shot well and it WILL die. here is proof : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsqrlaIef2o&list=UU91cRUSzWT0nL66FhKHciIQ&index=10&feature=plcp
Amo innectis arcus- I love crafting bows (latin)

Offline tom sawyer

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2012, 12:27:36 pm »