Author Topic: Finished First Bow  (Read 2134 times)

Offline driftingrz

Finished First Bow
« on: August 20, 2012, 04:34:35 pm »
well. after a few weeks workin on and off and going out of town for work. i finally finished.. just a redoak board bow. started out at 72"  but i cut an inch off both sides cause my nocks were hideous.. so now its 70" and about 68ish ntn. i had some pretty good limb twist and i decided to leave them as is since string still stayed dead center of handle... but then my perfectionist side took over and i got rasp happy.. and with each swipe i was dropping weight.. so it went from about 45lbs at 28" to 32lbs.. oh well.i just wanted something that would shoot arrows for my first bow and i succeeded..

after i started shooting arrows out of it i got impatient and wanted to finish it up so i shaped the handle and arrow rest and started staining.. unfortunately i kinda messed up the tiller and the bottom limb bends more than the top now.. so im considering scraping some on the top limb. but im not sure if the stain will match up afterwards..

bow is linen backed. and there were two pin holes i found in the bottom limb after tillering that i assume were left by some sort of bug.. so to prolong the life i decided to do a tight jute whipping on the limb and then soaked it in some thinned out TB3.. did same on top limb for aesthetics.

anybody got ideas for making the backing less ugly? haha. i was hoping the linen would take the stain but it didnt want to..

shes far from pretty but ive been shooting for the past 2 days with some old compound arrows... (forgive me  ;D).. and having never shot a tradbow before im hitting consistently from 20+ yards and having tons of fun.. hopefully ill find my heat gun and i can get to work on some bamboo arrows soon

anyways.. heres a picture of the tiller before i got frisky with the rasp.... just for future reference how does this look to you guys. this is at 18" if i remember right