Author Topic: It's alive! ALIVE! Actually, it shoots!  (Read 12568 times)

Offline Mike_H

Re: It's alive! ALIVE! Actually, it shoots!
« Reply #15 on: August 18, 2012, 06:32:04 pm »
Here's two better pictures

Offline Weylin

« Reply #16 on: August 18, 2012, 07:44:40 pm »
I'm not an expert on Molly's (or anything for that matter  :P) I'm working on my first one right now as well. That being said, it looks like your bow is doing too much work off the fades and not enough through the rest of your working limbs. Has your bow taken any set yet? an unbraced picture would help to see what's going on as well. the Mollegabet is a highly stressed design because of the short working area, you want as much of those limbs working as possible or you maybe be looking at trouble.

Offline Mike_H

« Reply #17 on: August 18, 2012, 07:49:28 pm »
There's about 1.5" of set but it's not getting worse.  The handle bends slightly but it is also backed.  I may have to take some wood off the lower the draw weight anyway.  It's a little heavy for me.

Offline Jodocus

« Reply #18 on: August 19, 2012, 11:07:41 am »
Hey, good to see you caught it! I like it a lot!  8) congratulations
Don't shoot!

Offline lesken2011

• Kenny
« Reply #19 on: August 19, 2012, 11:18:27 am »
Definitely not bad for an early bow of that design. I kind of agree with Weylin that it looks like it might be bending a little too much at the fades which seems to be a common problem I ran into with that design. It may appear that way because your handle is bending some, though. Mine are usually stiff. I really love the "no stack" draw on this design, too. Congrats!!
For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast.

Ephesians 2:8-9

Kenny from Mississippi, USA

Offline Mike_H

« Reply #20 on: August 19, 2012, 05:35:59 pm »
Thanks guys.  I'm just surprised she's holding together!

Offline Mike_H