Author Topic: Sisal backing  (Read 3499 times)

Offline DuBois

Sisal backing
« on: August 10, 2012, 05:08:30 pm »
I am preping some of this hay bail twine which is made from sisal fibers. It was free!
Anybody ever back a bow with it. It seems strong and I am planning to back a hard maple bow about 62" NTN.
I am thinking I will treat this like sinew and pattern it like sinew on the back (I don't really have sinew experience though)
 I am fairly new at bow making but can't stop now.
This is my first post and you all have been invaluable in my short bowyer life so far. I am not computer savy but will try to put pics on if I get that far.
Thanks again to you all!!
Marco D.

Offline tattoo dave

• Rockford, MI
Re: Sisal backing
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2012, 05:21:27 pm »
Never tried it, but would love to see some pics of the results.

Tattoo Dave
Rockford, MI

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2012, 07:58:41 pm »
All I know about that twine is that each fiber has almost no elasticity or ten sile strength. It may protect the back by acting as a glue matrix, but it wont hold reflex and I dont think it will do as much work as the glue holding it together will. Just my .0000002 cents worth.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline toomanyknots

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2012, 08:40:30 pm »