Author Topic: Read oak shafts  (Read 7304 times)

kurogane_84

Read oak shafts
« on: July 08, 2012, 10:15:33 pm »
Hello all, im wondering if anyone has tried to use Red oak boards to make arrow shafts before, there are some boards avalible for sale at a local hardware store and a thought came into my head would they make good shafts, if left to season cut into shaft lengths and left to cure

Offline iowabow

Re: Read oak shafts
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2012, 10:20:00 pm »
I took a deer with a red oak shaft.
(:::.) The ABO path is a new frontier to the past!

kurogane_84

« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2012, 10:31:46 pm »
I took a deer with a red oak shaft.

How did the shafts hold up?? is it a tough shaft, hard to straighten?? im new to shafts other than spruce, and carbon lol

Offline iowabow

« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2012, 10:34:46 pm »
There are better materials but they worked fine
(:::.) The ABO path is a new frontier to the past!

Offline RBLusthaus

« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2012, 01:54:20 pm »
They are heavy and are hard to get smooth as the exposed crunchy late wood from any run out is hard to burnish or sand.  For the effort involved in making shafts from boards, I would use a different wood such as poplar, maple, fir or cedar.  If you want a real heavy arrow - go for hickory.  Ash can be thrown into the mix as well. 

I prefer cedar and poplar.  Mostly poplar.

Russ

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2012, 02:00:28 pm »
If you are looking for bombproof shafting, look into picking out some hickory boards that have crazy straight grain.  You can always use a froe or a hatchet to split the board into square stock, insuring that there is just no grain run out at all.  Then square 'em up a bit more with a thumb plane and heat straighten the square stock.  Square stock is much easier to get really straight and it makes it easier to plane down to round when they are straight.