Author Topic: Hungarian bow recommendations?  (Read 15713 times)

Tomorrow_King

Re: Hungarian bow recommendations?
« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2012, 02:59:34 am »
after reading your post and the replys ,i can say nothing negative about the kassai or grozer style hungarian bows,, i did own and and shot a grozer stlye turk bow ,15 years or so ago,, i was not pleased with the handshock that it had,,, since then i have made many horn composite bows ,including the magyar style hungarian bow ,, none of which had any handshock,, it sounds as if you have a lot of inthusiasim,about the hungarain bows ,, if you have the tools and materials ,i think you should give it a try,,, if you need measurements  and lay-outs of the bow i can send them to you ,, i have all the info you would need to build a true horn composit magyar bow,,  james

I would absolutely love to be able to build my own! ;D I have zero bow building experience though and pretty much no wood working experience either. Do you really think it would be a do able project for someone with zero experience? Its definitely something I'd like to give a try though I'm not sure if I have the required tools and I definitely don't have the correct materials. The closest to any of them I have is a tiny horn about 5 inches long, off of what I have no idea but definitely not usable, I dug it out today(its actually been stored away for sometime) hoping it would be thick enough for me to attempt to make a thumb ring but it is sadly not. What sort of materials and tools are required?

Offline M-P

• PA731115
    • Traveling Surgery
« Reply #16 on: June 22, 2012, 02:02:23 pm »
Howdy,  Most horn bellied bows have some commonalities in construction.  The only book I know of in English is Adam Karpowicz' book on the Turkish Bow.   Get a copy of that book and some dimensions from robustus and you should have a good idea on materials and methods.   Ron
"A man should make his own arrows."   Omaha proverb